An unexpected digger

Update on the garden:

The lawn plugs have doubled and look like monstrous green tarantulas colonising the garden. But I went outside and discovered a snaking trail of pushed-up ground winding its way all over our newly composted and planted lawn. A mole!!! I started asking around and checked on Google: What do moles do to a garden, anyway? Do you have to get rid of them? And if you do, how are you supposed to do it?

The internet had some vague answers involving traps, sonar devices, poisons. But the advice of the garden people that had planted the lawn in the first place took the cake. I’ve added punctuation:

Hi,
Your mole is so happy because he has a new soft layer to tunnel around in.
It’s  hard one:-
Some say urinate on the area as they are territorial.
Some call exterminators.
I do not like hurting moles and see this as a blessing.
“Explores below the surface by digging a little deeper therefore he helps us with our subconscious minds. Mole will help you explore the hidden parts of yourself.”
My advice, keep flattening out the lawn whilst contemplating the above.
About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in family and friends, growing stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An unexpected digger

  1. Adam says:

    My Dad says you get two types hereabouts: Stootmolle and Kruipmolle. Stootmolle are the ones that make big heaps as they surface. Kruipmolle make ‘runners’ beneath the surface. I have no evidence for this taxanomic split between what may be two behavioural groups, but he is my Dad, so there you go.

    They are both carnivores. They don’t harm the lawn so much as the lawnmower – they make the lawn uneven and push sand and stones above the grass, which is where the blades are, and where they blunt themselves.

    My Dad says Kruipmolle can be dealt with with castor oil (‘Mole Go’ at Starke Ayres). It does them no harm, but causes them to go to the neighbour’s lawn. Stootmolle might also be deterred, but my Dad doesn’t have those so we can’t be sure. What we do know is that my grandfather had stootmolle and nurned out the Austin’s engine pushed exhaust gases into their tunnels, so don’t try that.

    Stootmolle can be killed with phostoxin if that particular form of murder is your thing. You can’t use it on kruipmolle because you don’t know where to put it.

    My own view, for what it is worth is that the honour of having a mole in your garden outweighs the blunting of the blades and the disorder to the lawn. I’m with the lawn people on this one. But then I don’t take the caterpillars off my lettuce either, so I am clearly not well.

  2. Kate Sipples says:

    What a fun conversation. What have you decided to do, Lisa?
    Thanks for your insightful and entertaining blog.
    Kate

  3. Lisa says:

    Can’t face trapping and killing the guy (the mole I mean, not the landscape guy), but I am trying to make the place a bit less hospitable for him. So mostly just stamping his tunnels down. And I found out that moles don’t like smelly stuff – onions, garlic, mothballs, that kind of thing. So I shoved some chopped garlic down the hills. So far, it doesn’t seem to have chased him away, but he also doesn’t seem to be doing much damage. And the grass is growing…

  4. biblar says:

    I draw the line at urinating in partial view of my neighbours….but I can safely say I have completely gone off moles in a big way….I also detest my cat for not earning her keep:)

Leave a Reply

