Poem

The Guesthouse

by Mowlana Jalaluddin Rumi

This being human is a guest house
Every morning a new arrival.
A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.
Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out for some new delight.
The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.
Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in awareness, inspiring words and images, meditation, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem

  1. Gwenn Segura says:

    Hi Lisa, I confess that, if I had come upon this entry in your blog even…. what…. three months ago…. I would not have reacted… but seeing the name of Rumi made me stand up and what?….. be counted?? well at least stand up and take note…. I have been doing an online Quaker course called “Becoming Friends” over the past few months as this latter group has fascinated me for many years and in one of their forums I came across someone talking about the works of Rumi….. never having heard of this person (I am ashamed to say) naturally I investigated him and am about to order some of his works from Amazon to educate myself (and possibly enlighten myself too?)…… his relation to the Quaker fold still has me questioning but I think the word “universalism” somehow comes to my mind……

Leave a Reply

