My not-quite allotment

Last week, I took a homegrown salad along to Kerry and Matt’s New Year’s thingy. Matt pointed out that if you take land value in Bantry Bay into account, this might be the most expensive lettuce, leaf for leaf, in the history of mankind. My friend the conservation guru, however, tells me not to sweat it; he reckons there are more than enough people miserable in high-flying careers, and spending their sadly earned gains on overpriced hippie-grown organics. So. Check out the most chi-chi veggie garden I never thought I’d pull together. We dug the beds sometime in October; this is how it looked a couple of weeks back:

p1010557

Back left bed – peas (with a few lettuces in front); back right bed – tomatoes, basil and peppers; right middle bed – broccoli, marigolds and rocket; front right – gemsquash, zucchini and some radishes; front left bed – beetroot and carrots; left side bed – green beans; middle bed – marigolds between the sweetcorn.

p1010558

Me looking very proud (in my red roller girl shorts that made my brother hiss and tell me I needed to go shopping for some real clothes).

p1010555

Oh, and when you farm veggies in Bantry Bay, this is the view from the garden…

(Thanks to Lara for taking the lovely pictures!)

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in family and friends, growing stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My not-quite allotment

  1. Katya Segura says:

    Oh my GOD, Lisa, your garden/allotment is looking AMAZING! I can’t believe how you seem to get things to GROW all around you, no matter where you are.

    Also, there’s nothing wrong with being a roller girl. 🙂

  2. tallstar7 says:

    Thanks! We picked the first peas, courgettes and tomatoes this week, to my amazement, and the rucola is going like, well, a rocket 🙂

    As for being a scaffy roller girl, I was doing just fine til I discovered the new Maya Prass store. I thought I’d died and gone to gorgeous-things-made-for-Lisa heaven.
    http://mayaprass.com

Leave a Reply

