Quite possibly the best use for online dating websites…

So my tango partner got a place in a Masters course in Europe, leaving me tango-partnerless. I decided there was only one thing to do. I found an internet dating website and put up this plaintive profile:

TangoPartnerPlease
Just to clarify: this is NOT a call for a lover, a date or a life partner!! I’m looking for someone based in Cape Town who’s keen to learn the Argentian tango.
I recently returned to Cape Town after a time overseas, and I would love to recontinue tango lessons, which I started a few years ago. I’m pretty much beginner/intermediate level, and would be happy to start again with a beginner as I’m not a professional or even a particularly talented dancer, just one with enthusiasm!
I’m looking for someone who is…
1. Keen to learn Argentinian tango. That would be a good start. Classes are usually on a thursday evening, so availability would also be a useful start.
2. Confident. In tango, the guy has to lead. You don’t have to be the cockiest or most dominant guy in the world, but it would help if you’re not insecure, self-conscious or desperately inhibited. (The flip side is that you also have to be able to listen to and respond to a partner.)
3. Tall. In other words, you’re taller than me – or, if you aren’t, you have no insecurities about dancing with a woman who’s taller than you.
4. Reasonably presentable with decent personal hygiene. It’s seldom fun dancing with someone that reeks of sweat or smoke, so if you’re friends with your shower and your toothbrush, that would be great.

Have to say, it worked like a charm. Have tango parter, will dance…

tango460

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in entertainment, internet, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quite possibly the best use for online dating websites…

  1. tallstar7 says:

    Totally, man! Someone replied within a day. He’d been keen to learn tango since he saw that classic scene in Scent of A Woman. I mean, there were also the thirty or forty others that wanted to date me, but I managed to duck neatly and stick with the program šŸ™‚

  2. Lisa says:

    Later update: Well, maybe not. The new recruit evaporated into unreliability after about three lessons. The good news, though, is that I reconnected with a dance partner from a couple of years ago. So it’s all good šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

