My five minutes on Twitter

A friend invited me to join Twitter. I’d heard a lot about Twitter, and hadn’t been able to figure out what the point was. Skimmed a couple of online articles. Even the derisive ones said, Well, try it and then figure out whether it’ll change your life. Er, so I signed up and took a look. Although as I did so, I recalled what a painstaking process it was to extricate myself from Facebook in a way that didn’t give the site access to old photos and details of mine.
So, Twitter. I nosed around the application a bit, still didn’t really get it. Added a few people I know to follow; looked through what they were saying. No lightbulbs going off. Then took another little Google excursion to read about what other people were saying online. Then came across this, which rang oh-so-true. (Though, yeah, I do see the irony of writing about this on a personal blog…)

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in entertainment, internet, media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My five minutes on Twitter

  1. Mikey says:

    Sitting on the couch reading your blog!!!!

  2. Pingback: My five minutes on Twitter « Relentless abundance | Manifest My Desire

  3. Lisa says:

    yeah, Mikey… sitting at my desk feeling kinda pleased anyone ever reads my blog 😉

  4. Lisa says:

    LOL. (Okay, I’ve commented on your blog before right? Just want to make sure I don’t appear to be a random blog stalker)

    Anyway, LOL, that was a hilarious video. I was trying to figure out what Twitter was, too. I feel like I am guilty of twittering sometimes, but mostly blogging is a form of journaling for me. The hopes that someone actually cares to read it is what keeps me on top of it. *Sigh*

    –Lisa C (from the CC forum)

  5. Lisa says:

    Hey Lisa C – I don’t mind blog stalkers; I suspect I have several 😉

    I don’t mean to write off Twitter. I haven’t killed my Twitter account. I just haven’t figured out the point… But I came across an interesting article that maps out a matrix of the personality types suited to each form of online communication…. will try find the link and post it at some point.

  6. Alex says:

    twitter is for people who can’t or won’t blog!

Leave a Reply

