The first step is admitting you have a problem…

I so totally nicked this from another blog. But I couldn’t help myself. Despite my insistent understanding of myself as a sane, rational, well-adjusted sort of person, could it be that I have a problem? I mean, I sometimes leave two or three days between posting (I do! I do!). I sometimes don’t think about it for days, weeks even, I swear. I have happy, healthy relationships with people outside the blogosphere (no, really, I’m not making this up). I have a range of interests afk (away from the keyboard, for those of you that don’t use tla’s – sorry, three-letter acronyms). But maybe, just maybe, unlike Selina 27 I just haven’t self-actualised enough to reach Step One…

Anyway, according to the good folk at Bloggers Anonymous, the situation is reasonably easily remedied:

There is no cure for Blog Addiction. But there is recovery. We call this process Blog Recovery Basics (BRB) fueled by our unique 12 step program:

1. We admitted we were powerless over our addiction – that our blogs had become unmanageable
2. Came to believe that a Sys Admin greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity
3. Made a decision to turn our blogs, logins and passwords over to a trusted third party
4. Made a searching and fearless content inventory of our blogs
5. Admitted to Bloglines, to Feedburner and Technorati being the exact nature of our overposting
6. Were entirely ready to have the RSS and Atom feeds removed from our sites
7. Humbly asked our blogroll to remove links to us
8. Made a list of all blogs we had linked, and became willing to delete them all
9. Made chmods to our directories wherever possible
10. Continued to take content inventory and when we were tempted to blog, promptly admitted it
11. Sought through coffee and Tivo to improve our time offline and resolved to not check our Technorati rankings more than once a day
12. Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to other addicts, and to practice these principles in all our affairs.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in internet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

