DVD giveaway: L’Incoronazione di Poppea

lincoronazione026
A while ago, in a moment of Kraken-inspired weirdness, I started collecting music and literature mentioned in some of my favourite Russell Hoban novels. I didn’t get that far, as there are soooo many musical and literary references.
Anyway, one of the acquisitions was (or so I thought) a CD of the opera L’Incoronazione di Poppea. But when it arrived, it was in fact a DVD. I seldom, if ever, watch DVDs, so here I have this obscure piece of musical theatre that really is crying (well, singing) out for a good home. I know this is a niche sort of appeal, but, see, this is why the internet rocks.
Here’s the idea. If you’d like the DVD, please email me a poem of your choice with Hobanesque (or just weird or inspiring) appeal. I’m guessing that the very niche appeal of this thing will mean I’ll get maybe three if I’m lucky. But who knows. Maybe there are more opera fans out there? I’ll stick names in a hat around mid-June and then post the DVD to the lucky winner.
If you’ve never heard of Russell Hoban, start here.
If you have heard of Hoban, but not the Kraken, start here.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in entertainment, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DVD giveaway: L’Incoronazione di Poppea

  1. Hi, Lisa!

    Here is a poem that I wrote just a few days ago, the first in a while…

    * * * * *

    Words

    I like you laughing
    Knowing – or thinking – that I have made you laugh,
    That it is a response, a joyful one (I think),
    To something that I have said
    So that I might laugh, too,
    At your free laughter
    At my words

    Unfortunately, this box seems to have crunched some of the lines, so, maybe, it doesn’t appear to its best advantage.

    Hope you find summat in it anyway!

    Anthony

  2. Chris Bell says:

    Here’s something old, but definitely Hoban-inspired:

    Hidden Lion
    (by Chris Bell, inspired by the Russell Hoban novel ‘Pilgermann’)

    still small voice asks
    are you awake?
    which is the dream
    which one is real?

    take these eyes
    and see for me
    the living heart
    of mystery

    purple blue
    spinning wheel
    so clear the dream
    now concealed

    the quiet dawn
    eternity
    breaking waves
    pull at my feet

    in the stone
    a lion wakes
    pyramids
    writhing snakes

    is it the stillness that longs to be motion
    is it the motion that longs to be still?
    between virgin and lion high over the ocean
    three stars like a scythe, an ancient vigil

    coming into port
    dawn in my eyes
    I put on my self
    these words no surprise:

    star of Islam
    star of the Jews
    part of a pattern
    neither can choose

    or is this the dream?
    and if it’s a dream,
    who’s dreaming me
    dreaming me?

  3. Mikey says:

    Hoban Schoban, can I just say that I’ve actually seen a performance of L’Incoronazione di Poppea?

    Put on by UCT Opera School … errr … some years ago. I was dating the lass who was playing the lead, Marisa Vitali – she went on to a career in the opera houses of Europe.

    And after losing touch with her for years and years, finally caught up with her through the glorious medium of Facebook! Lisa you should get an account. I’ll friend ya, babe!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

