Local is lekker …

Every now and then I notice little detail about life in South Africa, or in Cape Town, that gives me a homely, welcome, familiar sort of feeling. Subtle little gifts that give life here a certain sense, and pattern, meaning and colour. Some not-so-subtle things that are quite simply, gloriously nicer about being here. Many of these are things I never noticed before I left for the UK. Some things I noticed when I missed them, dreadfully, almost from the moment of arrival on that remote soggy island in the north. Some things I only noticed when I returned on holiday to Cape Town, and achingly, painfully realised how much I was leaving behind. And others I only noticed on my return, with gratitude and delight (and sometimes just relief). Anyway, I’ve been meaning for a while to flag them up here for your reading pleasure. So that those of you overseas can feel envy (well, unless you just blink and go “huh”?) and those of you living here can at least go “aha!”, perhaps with even an iota of smugness ‘cos just maybe you know what I’m talking about.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in awareness, observations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

