Local is lekker #2: wayne dot com

(Disclaimer: This is even shallower than the snackwich post. I posted it on request from a friend that said “I want to SEE!!! Put it on the blog!!” Shallow, very shallow. Just warning you.)

Wayne is my mom’s hairdresser. He has cut and coloured her hair for about 30 years.

Except now Wayne has become, like, the most exclusive hairdresser in the universe, with a salon at The One And Only hotel at the Waterfront.

My mom is away in Joburg this week visiting The Other Grandchild, so I got to go visit Wayne (now known as Wayne dot com). The driver takes your car away to park it for you. You walk through the hotel that smells, mysteriously, like heaven. Earth-to-heaven glass wraparound windows behind the bar reveal the entire view of the mountain to you as though you were walking into coffee-table-book postcard universe. Then you go outside, and walk alongside the canals and over a Zen-style bridge into a very Zen-style salon. Where they bring you your own personalised set of hairbrushes (stored and steam sterilised for you between visits). The attention to detail beggars belief. It’s astounding, and reminds me that in Cape Town you can (sometimes) live like a movie star even though you certainly aren’t one.

(PS. Amidst all this incredible showstopping luxury, and inspired by recent Tori Amos obsession, I decided to go bright-orange-fire-engine red. Loving it. Will post a picture when I have a decent one.)

(PPS. Urgh. Hate having to take my own picture. This one is courtesy of the built-in cam on my Mac. Red, hey?)

Photo 10

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Local is lekker #2: wayne dot com

  1. Jeannine says:

    Your OWN brushes!! The entire thing sounds fantastic – pic soon of red hair please!

  2. Jeannine says:

    Wow! It’s totally fab – very femme fatale 40s movie siren. I love it.

Leave a Reply

