Quotation

A close friend received this some time ago in a letter, and I felt grateful to read it when I did.

“I’m really sorry to hear your pain.  Yes, heartbreak is exactly a physical sensation, like it is breaking.  I remember the first time I felt this and sat there thinking “wow…now I know,” feeling it, slightly distracted from the agony by the sensation of pain.  And yes, it somehow shakes out and you grow a new heart to fill the empty space but it takes a long time.  And there are bits of the old heart left that you sort of remember.  And yes, Bruce Springsteen is bitch.  I recommend that you stay as far away from Leonard Cohen as possible.  Jazz instrumentals should be okay as long as they have no connection to the past.”

(With thanks to B. for permission and a promise that if I ever get my hands on the profane stories, I will quote them with glee.)

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in awareness, inspiring words and images, observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

