Piece of the moon

My favourite magazine – well, currently the only one I subscribe to, anyway – is New Scientist. It doesn’t have long articles instructing you on how to get your tummy flatter, your make-up more airbrushed or your sex exploits more athletic. I like it anyway.

Recently, New Scientist ran a competition to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the moon landing. The competition invited readers to imagine something Armstrong might have said instead of the much-quoted “That’s one small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind.” The prize was a piece of the moon.

The winner was Richard Hambly from Potts Point, New South Wales, Australia, with this entry:
• Hi Yuri, can we just keep this between the two of us?

From the runners-up, though, I particularly loved these:

• [Annoying ring tone] HELLO… I’m on the moon… no, its rubbish (David Mountford)

• I feel so small… I need a hug (Robert)

• I’m wearing my wife’s knickers (Tom)

• In forty years they’ll be giving this stuff away in magazines (Adrian Bowyer)

• Just pretend I said something witty and incisive and let’s get out of here (Fionn Pooler)

• One small step for man – one giant leap for conspiracy theorists (Jeremy Drew)

• That’s… [crunch]… oops! Sorry for squashing you, little fella (Richard Tucker)

• That’s one small step, a giant leap, a kick and clap, and turn on five (Duncan McKenzie)

(You can find an article with interesting insights on the themes of the 550 entries received here.)

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in media, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

