A year…

So we’ve just finished another round of Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur festivities. Which has meant, amongst other things, excessive feasting and a little fasting. And the attendant reflection over the year that’s past.

The year has flown, as they seem to do every year. At last years Yom Tov gatherings, I was still the bruised new arrival, back from London in a daze, babe in arms, trying to sort out what exactly had just hit me. It only seems like a few months ago. Although my London ordeal feels – in some ways – like it happened both last week and aeons ago. I guess that’s the thing about trauma. It prints itself like a watermark onto the page of you, so that from some angles, you can always catch a glimpse of it if you’re not careful.

I couldn’t help notice that Time magazine’s front cover last week had the headline “A Year Later” – with an image of a hand held up, fingers crossed. It was all about the year that had passed since Lehman Bros came tumbling down in the height of the economic meltdown. It struck a personal note, though.

What I remember personally of the Lehman Bros thing is that I was visiting Cape Town from London. My partner at the time had asked if he could use my car to help a friend of a friend move house. But their mutual friend couldn’t make it. Her company was working into the night buying up Lehman Bros property while it was going cheap.

The hand with the fingers crossed is Time’s way of saying – so far, so good. Things are looking up. Globally. Have to say, I kinda feel the same way. The last year has had its skid marks, for sure, and there are still days I feel murderous, traumatised or just shaky. But those moments pass quickly. I’m one of the fortunate few who has retained a steady stream of work in these tough times. Kolya is happy and healthy and soaking up new skills by the day. As of this week, I’m officially a homeowner again, and I’ve gotten back into the swing of life in Cape Town, with all its fluctuating delights and frustrations. So yeah, one year on, and – fingers crossed – let’s hope the next one only gets better.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in family and friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year…

  1. Jeannine says:

    Well done, you’ve achieved a lot in your first year of motherhood! Geez, being a good mother for one year is achievment enough.

Leave a Reply

