Light floods in

So I know I’ve been quiet on this blog of late. There have been a number of reasons but I promise you don’t want to hear them. Anyway. Here is the main source of busyness (well, besides crazy quantities of work): house renovations are under way and demanding tons of attention. Today I was so so delighted, as two new windows had been fitted, a hole knocked through for a new door, and a space chopped out for a roof window. Light was just flooding in anywhere, and I suddenly had a glimpse of the lovely bright space we’re going to be living in…

The biggest revelation was the light that poured in through the hole they cut for the roof window. (For the uninitiated, a roof window is like a skylight except that it opens like a window. So – light and air! How nice is that?) I suppose it’s a no-brainer: if you cut a big hole in your ceiling on a sunny day, light is obviously going to flood the place. But it’s still such a heavenly surprise when it does…

These are the old cupboards. Watch this space!

I wasn’t going to keep the Victorian bath but kind of talked myself into it, and now I think it’s kind of cute. Especially next to the lovely new sash window.

So loving my new fresh white walls!

The green has to go, and when the black plastic is off, this will be a whole lot more light coming in…

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in family and friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

