Serendipity

Gosh, it’s been one of those days.

Kolya’s nanny called early this morning to say she’d be late. Which would mean I’d be unable to make my 9 o’clock meeting. Except that someone else happily rearranged to switch meeting times so mine got changed to 12. That was nice.

Oh, and then the nanny got in earlier than she’d thought. I had some time before my 10.30 appointment with the lady to fit the shower doors. I needed to fetch a basin from a warehouse on the other side of the city and get it to the house, but there wasn’t enough time before 10.30 for that. Except that my mom had arranged for someone from her office to fetch the basin and get it back to the office. So there was just enough time to get to the office, and make the 10.30 with basin delivered and plenty time to spare. That was nice.

Of course, I forgot my keys to the house. But the painters were there, making the place beautiful. So it didn’t matter. Oh, and the shower door lady arrived on time. She looked at the showers and said that she couldn’t measure yet. The builder would need to finish another row of tiling to level out the surface so that she could measure properly. With that, the builder arrived and she could explain to him just what to do. So we got through that just snappily, which left me with enough time to go through the whole house and compile a final list of what needs to be finished. And enough time to pick up some of the other plumbing supplies for the builder and a paint sample for the painter. And the lovely furniture shop still had the very lovely headboard that had been there last time I saw it. And it was the last one in stock. And they said it could indeed be mine. That was nice.

Then to the 12 o’clock meeting, after which I had to call an office in town to find out whether I needed to pop in to sign a document that needed to be sent off today. Oh, they said, you need to have it printed, signed and commissioned. That should’ve meant going all the way home to get the documents and print them, and then to find a commissioner, and then back to town to deliver them. But a friend is a commissioner. So she kindly said, just come to my office and print it out and I can commission it for you. So I did. And when I got it back to the office that needed to send it off – they realised that it was missing some of the pages. But there was another commissioner downstairs, so they just reprinted it and got it all sorted out. Then the courier walked in, as though someone had sent him just on time. Did I mention that there was a parking spot just outside the building? No, I probably forgot that bit. Well, there was. That was nice.

Then I realised I was low on fuel in my car. But I had remembered yesterday to put my petrol card back in my wallet with the pile of cards I’d taken out for the trip to Dubai. Oh, and the petrol place has a bakery with the lemon poppyseed muffins I like. That was nice.

So it’s really been one of those days. As Kolya frequently says these days: I LIKE it.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in awareness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serendipity

  1. Jeannine says:

    Good Lord Lisa, just reading this post makes me want to lie down and rest! I’m sure it’s all going to be worth it when it’s done. . . when it’s done.

  2. Laura Markovitz says:

    Hi Lisa. Sounds exhausting!! Can relate.Just checked out your blog, its really great. Not sure how to get hold of you besides the potential of a Gardens Centre bump into each other type of the thing. Would love to chat. Hope you and Kolya are doing well

Leave a Reply

