Open your eyes – a wish

OK, I’m putting a big wish out there, and sending this one out into the world, fascinated to see what might come back.

The UN has put out an invitation for anyone in the world to pitch an idea to the UN Secretary-General, Ban Ki-moon – an idea that could make the world a better, safer place to live. I have an idea. An awesome, special idea. But I’m not a filmmaker, and I somehow need to make a 30-second video to convey it.

I can’t share the pitch idea with you, but I can tell you the idea for the video: I want to edit together footage of people from all over the world, people of different ages and looks and backgrounds… opening their eyes.

So here’s my request: Find someone with a mobile phone that has a video camera. Or a proper camera. And take 3 seconds of footage of a face: a close-up (just face, or even just eyes), starting with eyes closed. The eyes open, gazing steadily into camera. That’s it. You, opening your eyes. Your great-granny, your baby sister, anyone. Can be the most interesting, beautiful, wizened or loving face you know. Can be the most ordinary.

(Obviously I’m sending out this wish with a lot of trust that no one will plagiarise the idea. Let’s not even go there.) Sending it on out; can’t wait to see what you all send back.

L x

Technical stuff

Once you’ve taken the footage, please email the clip to me at greenstein[dot]lisa[at]gmail[dot]com. Put OPEN YOUR EYES in the subject line, and include the following sentence inthe email: I am sending this file with full permission for it to be used in the OPEN YOUR EYES submission video for the UN Citizens Ambassadors contest.

I need all the submissions by 31 August 2011 so I can do the final edit and submit it in time. I will probably only fit 10 to 15 faces in the final edit, but I will send a link to the final video so you can see it.

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in awareness, inspiring words and images, internet, media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

