Tennis balls and chocolate sauce

The next post was going to be about the marvels of juicing ginger and how that appears to have resulted in several almost pain-free days this week, and how ginger and grapefruit juice will basically save your life. But fear not, friends, this is not a juicing evangelism post.

Yes, friends, it’s 2.30 am and I wake up with the thought (obviously) that what I really really need is a tennis ball. A tennis ball to shove over the screaming agony of the excruciating hip or ITB or whatever you call this thing. A tennis ball will basically save my life.

So I wander into Kolya’s room, because no one is sleeping in Kolya’s room, because both kids are sleeping in the other room, because when you’re pregnant everyone sleeps basically as far away from you as you can get, because you are household disturbance number one. There’s a lot of Lego, and innumerable red tin cans that you’re supposed to stack up and knock over with a ball (but no ball). There’s a golf club (putter, specifically) that must have some sort of accompanying ball somewhere – but not here. There’s a lot of paper and more Lego. No tennis ball, no bouncing ball, nothing remotely ball-like, except for one fluffy toy that is shaped like a soccer ball – but a squishy one.

I turn off the alarm and go downstairs. Somewhere in Molly’s toys there must be a tennis ball. More fluffy toys, more Lego and several puzzles. Nothing remotely tennis ball-like. So I have the next (obvious) thought: ice! I’ve forgotten about ice! I will find the ice pack and ice the area to oblivion. An ice pack will save my life!

The ice pack is easier to locate than the tennis ball. (For fucks’ sake, I have two children, and no tennis balls? Is this even possible?) But there it is, the ice pack. Next to the ice cream. It’s now close to 3am. Ice cream I think. Hmm. That could also be a lifesaver. Ice cream and hot chocolate sauce, that would help. But there is no chocolate sauce. But I could make chocolate sauce. At least I know there is cream, and that is the main thing you need (aside from cocoa and chocolate, which are are even easier to locate than an ice pack in this house).

So, yes, it appears that at around 3am this Sunday morning, I took down a pot and made chocolate sauce. It wasn’t a tennis ball, and I suspect it won’t save my life. In fact, I suspect that tomorrow morning I may need an extra shot of ginger juice to alleviate the evil side-effects of all that sugar. But it was pretty nice on the ice cream and some sliced banana at around 3.30am.

Chocolate sauce (I kid you not)

1/2 cup sugar + 1/4 cup water, boiled together for 2 minutes to make a light syrup
1/2 cup sugar (yes, another one)
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup cream
55g dark chocolate

First make the light syrup by boiling the 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water together. Ideally these should cool, but if it’s 3am anything goes. Add the sugar, cocoa and water, and bring to the boil, then lower and simmer for about 5 to 7 minutes. Turn off the heat, whisk in the cream and chocolate until very glossy and smooth. Pour it into a large jar (it makes around 500 ml). Leave it to cool.

You can keep this stuff indefinitely in the fridge, taking off the lid from time to time and warming for 20 or 30 seconds in the microwave. It withstands reheating pretty admirably – sugar is the ultimate preservative.

 

About Lisa

I live in South Africa with my husband and two small children, doing things, thinking about things and sometimes writing about them.
This entry was posted in cooking, pregnancy and birth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

